About Down's Syndrome : Hannah

My name is Hannah. I am 45 and I live in North Wales with my mum and dad. I have two brothers and three nieces.

I have worked and earned my own money since I was 19 years old. I worked for 14 years in a primary school for 5 days a week. Then I worked in a B&B laying tables in the dining room. I’ve also worked in Marks & Spencer and Boots and as a cleaner in a show home. Now I work part time in a nursing home.  I like to work and the people I have worked with have been helpful and supportive.

I don’t like being bored so I take part in lots of things. I love sports. I go swimming, play tennis and table tennis and I’m a member of Disability Skiing. We’ve been skiing in Bulgaria three times. I enjoy horse riding. The horse I ride is called Alfie. I like to trot. I like walking, shopping and gardening. I go to drama group with my friends.

I love going on holiday with my mum and dad. I have been para sailing. That was exciting.

 

What's New

  • Riding high: Super Steve reaches the top of the world!

    He took a trusty Royal Enfield Bullet motorbike and rode it along some of the most challenging terrain in the high passes of the Himalayas in India.…

  • Happy 75th birthday George!

    We were recently sent these gorgeous photos of George McCullagh, from Northern Ireland, celebrating his 75th birthday last month!…

  • New NICE guidance on growing older

    Earlier this year, the DSA was pleased to be involved in shaping new guidance around growing older with a learning disability. We responded to a National Institute for Clinical Excellence (NIC…