About Down's Syndrome : Elijah

Hello, or G’day, from Australia!

My name is Elijah and together with Crumpet, my monkey, I have made a YouTube channel called ‘Elijah and Crumpet’.

First, a bit about me: I am 9 years old and live in Brisbane with Mum, Dad and big brother Thomas. Mum and I were born in Australia, but Dad and Thomas were born in the U.K., so we are really happy that we could share my story with you over there! A big “Thank You” to DSA UK!

I go to a regular state school and I am in grade 3. I also go to Scouts and we have the Best Scout Group Ever! I’ve been going there since I was 2 with Thomas, so everyone knows me really well and I made a lot of older friends there who go to my school. I’m also a cheeky monkey (Hey, that’s my line – Crumpet).

I’m learning how to swim and I like to go to the beach. I like making YouTube videos with Crumpet and watching them. I play some X-box and like playing with my superhero toys. I’m also learning Japanese and some German – I even taught Crumpet some words on our show. I like to dance with Mum and sing along to lots of music. I also love playing sword-fighting with Dad or anyone else who gets in the way!

We’ll leave you with a link to the first videos on our YouTube channel – we’ve had some great feedback as people think we are cute, funny and very entertaining! We hope you like it. You can also find us if you search for ‘Elijah and Crumpet’. In the About section is more information about the reasons for us doing our show.

Elijah’s story was written with support from his family.

What's New

  • New Research Study: Older Carers

    On Wednesday 20 November, Julian Hallett, DSA Services Development Manager, was delighted to be involved in an event launching the findings of an important research study which looked at the expe…

  • Sara Pickard at the Women of the Year Awards

    What a day DSA member and campaigner, Sara Pickard, had at the ‘Women of the Year Lunch and Awards’ in London! <span style="color: #0…

  • Let’s Talk About Relationships and Sex

    The Information and Training Team have spent much of the last year developing a new eight week training course package for adults with Down’s syndrome cove…